February 4, 2023

Shock! Lower than a 12 months after their newest album A Little bit of Earlier, Belle and Sebastian return this Friday, January thirteenth with one other new full-length known as Late Builders. As a sneak peak, the band has shared the lead single, “I Don’t Know What You See In Me.”

Clocking in at 11 songs, Late Builders was recorded throughout the identical periods as A Little bit of Earlier. However as punk rocker and B&S superfan Jeff Rosenstock writes within the album’s liner notes, Late Builders “doesn’t really feel like a set of lesser-than songs that weren’t ok to go on the ‘actual’ document,” as a substitute evoking the liberty and proficiency of expert painters on “a jumbo-sized canvas.”

“I Don’t Know What You See In Me” places that metaphor into impact, swapping out Belle and Sebastian’s typical indie-pop jangle for a heavy dose of ’80s synth-pop sheen. The band members themselves know that is an sudden sound from them, and that is available in half due to a co-write from producer Peter Ferguson, a.ok.a. fellow Glaswegian Wuh Oh.

“I used to be bicycling throughout Scotland final summer season, listening to a mixture of this tune,” frontman Stuart Murdoch stated in a press launch. “It was written and produced for us by our buddy Pete ‘Wuh Oh’ Ferguson. As I listened to it, I felt fortunate to be the primary particular person to get to sing this tune. I let my voice swoop and soar in ways in which it possibly hasn’t earlier than. And as I continued by means of fields of gold and inexperienced I allowed myself to neglect it was Belle and Sebastian, and fake it was the most recent hit on some random radio station. All music is escape, and maybe we managed to flee a bit of additional than regular with this sudden tune. Thanks Pete!”

Pre-orders for Late Builders are ongoing. Under, see its paintings and tracklist, and take heed to “I Don’t Know What You See In Me.”

Belle and Sebastian carried out some new tracks and dug up previous favorites throughout their NPR Tiny Desk Live performance final summer season. The band will embark on a North American tour this spring; you will get your tickets over at Ticketmaster.

Late Builders Paintings:

Late Builders Tracklist:
01. Juliet Bare
02. Give a Little Time
03. When We Have been Very Younger
04. Will I Inform You a Secret
05. So Within the Second
06. The Night Star
07. When You’re Not With Me
08. I Don’t Know What You See In Me
09. Do You Comply with
10. When the Cynics Stare Again from the Wall
11. Late Builders

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.