November 25, 2022

Katherine Paul, a.ok.a Black Belt Eagle Scout, has revealed her new album, The Land, The Water, The Sky, will arrive on February tenth through Saddle Creek. The information dropped together with the LP’s first providing, “My Blood Runs Via This Land.”

The Land, The Water, The Sky largely focuses on Paul’s expertise of shifting again to the Swinomish Indian Tribal Group in Washington from Portland, Oregon in 2020. In an announcement, Paul shared that the album was created “to file and replicate upon my journey again to my homelands and the challenges and the happiness it introduced.” She recorded the undertaking within the ancestral Coast Salish territory with co-producer Takiaya Reed, and wrote and composed the set completely on her personal.

The album’s simultaneous expression of grief and celebration is efficiently launched by its first providing, “My Blood Runs Via This Land.” The album’s opener “is in regards to the connection I’ve with my ancestors,” Paul stated. “Once I run my palms by the rocks at Snee Oosh Seaside and dip my fingers into our waterways, I’m reminded of the place I come from.” Paul embraced the immersive “sounds and the emotions” of the encompassing forestland in a method that “deeply grounds me and strengthens my bond to my lineage of the Swinomish tribe.”

“I needed the delicateness of those moments to fulfill the extraordinary actuality of the historical past of my individuals,” she shared. “I prefer to think about my blood all of my ancestors operating by our homelands freely and powerfully.” Paul cements her declare to the hallowed floor with an accompanying music video, directed by Evan Benally Atwood, that shuttles her between the shores and streets of Swinomish and Coast Salish land. Watch the visible for “My Blood Runs Via This Land” beneath. 

Black Belt Eagle Scout kicked again into gear in October together with her first new track in three years, titled “Don’t Give Up.” The only adopted her 2019 LP, On the Occasion with My Brown Associates, which nabbed a spot on Consequences listing of High Albums of 2019. Pre-orders for The Land, The Water, The Sky are ongoing.

Paul additionally has a run of UK and European tour dates lined up for early 2023. Seize your seats through Ticketmaster.

The Land, The Water, The Sky Paintings:

The Land, The Water, The Sky Tracklist:
01. My Blood Runs Via This Land
02. Sedna
03. Salmon Stinta
04. Blue
05. On the River
06. No person
07. Fancy Dance
08. Sčičudᶻ (a slender place)
09. Treeline
10. Understanding
11. Areas
12. Don’t Give Up

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.