November 25, 2022

In the end, Kelela has readied her sophomore album RAVEN. The undertaking is out February tenth through Warp, whereas the brand new music “On the Run” is out now.

RAVEN follows Kelela’s 2017 debut Take Me Aside. She wrote and organized all 15 tracks herself, and co-executive produced the album alongside Asmara. Yo Van Lenz and Florian T M Zeisig of ambient duo OCA served because the album’s essential producers alongside LSDXOXO, whereas Bambii offered further manufacturing.

“I began this course of from the sensation of isolation and alienation I’ve all the time had as a Black femme in dance music, regardless of its Black origins,” Kelela stated in a press release. “RAVEN is my first breath taken at nighttime, an affirmation of Black femme perspective within the midst of systemic erasure and the sound of our vulnerability turned to energy.”

“On the Run” begins with reverb-heavy keys that evoke the waves of the water Kelela’s immersed in on the RAVEN album cowl, as her daring vocals stand out from the atmospheric instrumentals. Take heed to the one beneath, and scroll onward for RAVEN‘s art work and tracklist. Pre-orders for the album are ongoing.

Kelela returned in September with “Washed Away,” her first new music in 4 years.

RAVEN Paintings:

RAVEN Tracklist:
01. Washed Away
02. Comfortable Ending
03. Let It Go
04. On the Run
05. Missed Name
06. Closure
07. Contact
08. Fooley
09. Holier
10. Raven
11. Bruises
12. Sorbet
13. Divorce
14. Sufficient for Love
15. Far Away

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.