September 27, 2022

It’s important to give Ozzy Osbourne oodles of credit score — he might have rode off into the sundown years in the past, and would have nonetheless been thought-about a music icon (each as frontman of the legendary Black Sabbath and as a mega-successful solo singer). It could’ve been fully comprehensible if he eased off his workload in recent times, particularly after a collection of well being setbacks, together with a current main neck surgical procedure and an ongoing battle with Parkinson’s illness. But, whereas his well being and the pandemic put his farewell tour on maintain, he has been as prolific as ever within the studio, releasing Bizarre Man in 2020 and returning simply two years later along with his new album, Affected person Quantity 9.

Following the identical sport plan as its predecessor, Affected person Quantity 9 sees Ozzy working as soon as extra with producer/multi-instrumentalist/songwriter Andrew Watt. And like Bizarre Man, Ozzy and Watt have recruited a powerful A-list assortment of famend rockers to contribute to the album. Included are guitar icons Jeff Beck, Eric Clapton, and Black Sabbath’s Tony Iommi, plus longtime collaborator Zakk Wylde, together with Pearl Jam’s Mike McCready, Metallica’s Robert Trujillo, Purple Scorching Chili Peppers’ Chad Smith, Weapons N’ Roses’ Duff McKagan, and late Foo Fighters drummer Taylor Hawkins.

Regardless of getting into this superior stage of his profession (the singer is 73 years previous on the time of the album’s launch), Ozzy’s vocals are surprisingly sturdy — notably on the tunes “One among These Days” and “A Thousand Shades.” It’s additionally refreshing to listen to heartfelt, non-speed demon guitar solos from Clapton (the aforementioned “One among These Days”), Beck (“A Thousand Shades” and the title observe), and McCready (“Immortal”). Even the guitarist that you simply’d anticipate to assist fulfill the “shred quota” — Zakk Wylde — retains it largely restrained on such tunes as “Mr. Darkness” and “Nothing Feels Proper” (though admittedly he does let his fingers fly on “Parasite”).

Nonetheless, the album’s high standouts must be the pair of picks that see Ozzy united as soon as extra with the supreme riff grasp, Tony Iommi: “Degradation Guidelines” (which incorporates some “The Wizard”-like harmonica work from Oz) and “No Escape from Now.” On every music, the pair recapture the magic they made for therefore a few years with Black Sabbath.

From begin to end, Affected person Quantity 9 is an impressed and constant Ozzy studio providing. It definitely seems that workforce Ozzy has discovered a producer who will get the most effective out of the veteran singer and his all-star forged of backing musicians.

Important Tracks: “Degradation Guidelines,” “Affected person Quantity 9,” “One among These Days,” “No Escape from Now”

Affected person Quantity 9 Art work:

Ozzy Osbourne - Patient Number 9

Affected person Quantity 9 Tracklist:
01. Affected person Quantity 9 (feat. Jeff Beck)
02. Immortal (feat. Mike McCready)
03. Parasite (feat. Zakk Wylde)
04. Mr. Darkness (feat. Zakk Wylde)
05. One among These Days (feat. Eric Clapton)
06. A Thousand Shades (feat. Jeff Beck)
07. No Escape From Now (feat. Tony Iommi)
08. Nothing Feels Proper (feat. Zakk Wylde)
09. Evil Shuffle (feat. Zakk Wylde)
10. Degradation Guidelines (feat. Tony Iommi)
11. Lifeless and Gone
12. God Solely Is aware of
13. Darkside Blues

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.