August 14, 2022

Santigold has introduced her new album, Spirituals, out September ninth. As a preview, she unleashed the defiant single “Ain’t Prepared.”

For Spirituals, Santigold recruited an inventory of contributors together with Rostam, the Yeah Yeah Yeahs’ Nick Zinner, Boys Noize, JakeOne, Doc McKinney, Psymun, Ricky Blaze, Lido, Ray Brady, and Ryan Olson. In a press release, the artist revealed how she bought over author’s block.

“Recording this album was a approach again to myself after being caught in survival mode,” Santigold defined. “It wasn’t till I made the house to create that I spotted I wasn’t solely creating music however a lifeline. California was on fireplace, we have been hiding from a plague, the social justice protests have been unfolding. I’d by no means written lyrics quicker in my life. After having complete author’s block, they began pouring out. I made a decision to create the long run, to look in direction of the place we’re going, to create magnificence and pull in direction of that magnificence. I would like that for myself, but it surely’s additionally there for whoever else wants it.”

Pre-orders are ongoing. Scroll onward for the art work and tracklist beneath.

With a thundering beat co-produced by Santigold with Illangelo earlier than Dre Cranium and SBTRKT placed on ending touches, “Ain’t Prepared” options gothic synths and tribal drums. In the meantime, Santigold sings about pushing ahead with lyrics like, “It are available in arduous/ Kick in a single facet of your coronary heart/ What a blow, no it received’t cease/ So I take my time now getting again up.” Watch the Frank Ockenfels-directed video beneath.

“It was a type of songs the place as quickly as I opened my mouth the entire melody simply poured out,” Santigold mentioned about “Ain’t Prepared” in a press release. “There have been no phrases however all of the emotion was there. To me, the music sounded filled with wrestle and perseverance. It appeared like a battle, and I wished the manufacturing to sound powerful, to reflect that grit. I struggled to search out the fitting lyrics at first, however after I bought them proper, and I began singing them one night time in my studio alone, I cried.”

She continued, “This music was my very own battle music. It’s about taking the hits that life brings and getting again up. It’s about change and shifting ahead. It’s about religion and imaginative and prescient. And it’s about moving into your individual energy.”

The brand new single follows Could’s “Excessive Priestess.” Spirituals marks Santigold’s first new album since her 2018 shock mixtape I Don’t Need: The Gold Hearth Classes and is the right follow-up to 2016’s 99¢.

Spirituals Paintings:

santigold spirituals artwork

Spirituals Tracklist:
01. My Horror
02. Nothing
03. Excessive Priestess
04. Ushers of the New World
05. Witness
06. Shake
07. The Lasty
08. No Paradise
09. Ain’t Prepared
10. Fall First

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.