September 24, 2022

To have a good time the twenty fifth anniversary of their seminal third album Dig Me Out, Sleater-Kinney’s Carrie Brownstein and Corin Tucker are getting ready to launch Dig Me In: A Dig Me Out Covers Album. Forward of its October twenty first launch date, the band have shared the album’s full listing of collaborators, providing a preview immediately with Courtney Barnett’s tackle “Phrases and Guitar.”

A couple of of the names contributing to Dig Me In aren’t shocking in any respect: The band’s frequent collaborator St. Vincent will put her personal spin on “Dig Me Out,” whereas fellow Pacific Northwest indie legends Wilco will tackle “One Extra Hour,” and teenaged riot grrrls The Linda Lindas will supply their rendition of “Little Infants.” Elsewhere, we’ll hear chameleonic indie duo Low carry out “Dance Track ’97,” Margo Worth carry out “Flip It On,” and TV On the Radio’s Tunde Adebimpe carry out “The Drama You’ve Been Craving.”

“The artists who seem on Dig Me In haven’t a lot lined the 13 unique songs, however reinterpreted and reimagined them,” Sleater-Kinney wrote in an announcement. “By means of added layers or the subtraction of guitars and drums, they supply a brand new approach into the songs. Recent rage, pleasure, ache, reclamation, slyness, and longing. Different interpretations decelerate or stretch out the songs, buying and selling urgency for contemplation, weariness or perhaps a trace of ease.” Pre-orders are ongoing, and a portion of proceeds will go to the Portland LGBTQIA+ nonprofit advocacy group Sexual & Gender Minority Youth Useful resource Heart (SMYRC).

Though it’s a bit jarring to listen to “Phrases and Guitar” with out Tucker’s piercing voice, Barnett offers the observe a extra relaxed, garage-y really feel with out compromising its chunk. Hearken to it under, after which preserve scrolling to see the total tracklist and paintings for Dig Me In: A Dig Me Out Covers Album.

Dig Me In: A Dig Me Out Covers Album Paintings:

Dig Me In: A Dig Me Out Covers Album Tracklist:
01. St. Vincent – “Dig Me Out”
02. Wilco – “One Extra Hour”
03. Margo Worth – “Flip It On”
04. Tunde Adebimpe – “The Drama You’ve Been Craving”
05. Self Esteem – “Coronary heart Manufacturing facility”
06. Courtney Barnett – “Phrases and Guitar”
07. Black Belt Eagle Scout – “It’s Sufficient”
08. The Linda Lindas – “Little Infants”
09. Jason Isbell / Amanda Shires – “Not What You Need”
10. Tyler Cole – “Purchase Her Sweet”
11. Huge Joanie – “Issues You Say”
12. Low – “Dance Track ’97”
13. Nnamdï – “Jenny”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.